Materials Australia

Shopping cart is empty.

Materials Australia National Body

Materials Australia is a national organisation with branches in each Australian State. It is governed by a National Council.

The National Body is comprised of the National Executive: (the President, Vice-President, Immediate Past President, Honorary Secretary, Honorary Treasurer and one other member), a Nominated Member from each State Branch, and Chairpersons from the National Committees (Awards, Education, Events, Membership and Publications). 

The National Council appoints the National Executive (the President, who acts as Chair, President-elect, Honorary Secretary and Honorary Treasurer). This Executive is responsible for directing, developing, monitoring and controlling all the activities of the Institute, and in so doing, acting for Council between Council meetings. 

National Office Bearers and Council

National Executive Committee

 Dr. Roger Lumley, CMatP
Vice President:  Prof. Nikki Stanford, CMatP 
Immediate Past President:
 Mr. Stuart Folkard, CMatP
Member:  Mr. David Haynes
Secretary:  Mr. Mike Brameld
Treasurer:  Mr. Paul Howard, CMatP
Executive Officer:
 Ms. Tanya Smith

National Council

Membership Chair:   Dr. Alan Hellier, CMatP  
Publications Chair:  Prof. Ma Qian  
Events Chair:   Prof. Jian-Feng Nie  
Awards Chair:  Mr. Stuart Folkard, CMatP  
VIC/TAS Branch Representative:  Dr. Ivan Cole, CMatP  
NSW Branch Representative:  A/Prof. Sophie Primig, CMatP  
QLD Branch Representative:  Mr. David Haynes  
SA Branch Representative:  A/Prof. Colin Hall, CMatP  
WA Branch Representative: Dr. Paul Huggett, CMatP  
ACT Branch Representative A/Prof. Alexey Glushenkov  

State Branches

The Branches are at the forefront of managing the relationships we have with our members. The role of the branches and the key tasks they administer are:

  • Branch meetings
  • Local member activities
  • Membership retention
  • Newsletters and information for members
For more information on our State Branches, please visit the web page for each State.
Materials Australia Major Corporate Supporters - Show All