Skip to main content Skip to main content

Materials Australia National Body

Materials Australia is a national organisation with branches in each Australian State. It is governed by a National Council.

The National Body is comprised of the National Executive: (the President, Vice-President, Immediate Past President, Honorary Secretary, Honorary Treasurer and one other member), a Nominated Member from each State Branch, and Chairpersons from the National Committees (Awards, Education, Events, Membership and Publications). 

The National Council appoints the National Executive (the President, who acts as Chair, President-elect, Honorary Secretary and Honorary Treasurer). This Executive is responsible for directing, developing, monitoring and controlling all the activities of the Institute, and in so doing, acting for Council between Council meetings. 

National Office Bearers and Council

National Executive Committee

Roger Lumley, CMatP
Vice President: Nikki Stanford, CMatP   
Immediate Past President: Stuart Folkard, CMatP  
Member: David Haynes  
Secretary: Mike Brameld  
Treasurer: Paul Howard, CMatP
Executive Officer:
Tanya Smith

National Council

Membership Chair:  Alan Hellier, CMatP
Publications Chair: Ma Qian
Events Chair:  Jian-Feng Nie
Awards Chair: Stuart Folkard, CMatP
Education & Training Chair: Vacant
VIC/TAS Branch Representative: Ivan Cole, CMatP
NSW Branch Representative: Sophie Primig, CMatP
QLD Branch Representative: David Haynes
SA Branch Representative: Colin Hall, CMatP
WA Branch Representative: Sridharan Chandran, CMatP
ACT Branch Representative Alexey Glushenkov
Standards Australia Representative David Haynes

State Branches

The Branches are at the forefront of managing the relationships we have with our members. The role of the branches and the key tasks they administer are:

  • Branch meetings
  • Local member activities
  • Membership retention
  • Newsletters and information for members

For State Branch events, visit the events page.

New South Wales Councillors

President: Rachel White, CMatP 
Vice-President:  Sophie Primig, CMatP
Vice-President | Secretary: Huijun Li, CMatP
Treasurer: Hong Lu (NCIA)
NSW CMatP Coordinator: Alan Hellier, CMatP
Councillors: Rachel White, CMatP
Alan Hellier, CMatP
Nima Haghdadi
Student Councillors Blake Regan (UTS)
Peter Richardson (Newcastle)
Scott Jones (UNSW)
NSW Branch Email Address

South Australia Councillors

Branch President: Colin Hall, CMatP

Branch Committee: Deborah Ward, CMatP
Peter Kentish, CMatP
David Parry
SA Branch Email Address:

Queensland Councillors

Branch Chair & Secretary: David Haynes
Vice-Chair & Engineers Australia Liaison: Michael Chan, CMatP
Treasurer: Richard Clegg, CMatP
Communications Officer: Andrew Kostryzhev, CMatP
Student Representative:Chi-Ho Ng
Council Member:Ian Dover
Council Member:
David Schonfeld
Council Member:
Hamid Pourasiabi
QLD Branch Email Address:

Victoria & Tasmania Councillors

President: Ivan Cole, CMatP
Vice-President: Rou Jun Toh
Treasurer: Rob O'Donnell
Secretary: Edith Hamilton, CMatP (Contact:
General Councillors: Jenna Tong, CMatP
Ping Ping Chung
John Rea, CMatP 
Fugen Daver
Technical Program: Yvonne Durandet, CMatP
Communications Coordinators: Ma Qian
Pranay Wadyalkar, CMatP
Regional Liaison: Gary Bunn
Geelong Representative: Ludo Dumee
Early-Career Researchers &
Student Representative:
Asma Lumin
Chathumini Samarawiskrama

VIC & TAS Branch Email Address:

Western Australia Councillors

President: Sridharan Chandran, CMatP
Vice-President: Steve Algie
Honorary Secretary: Irene Pettigrew
Treasurer: Geoff Williams
Technical Program Convenor: Louise Petrick, CMatP
Corresponding Officer: Steve Algie
Training & Seminar Facilitator: Paul Howard, CMatP
National Membership Committee: Sridharan Chandran, CMatP
Meeting Notices: Louise Petrick, CMatP
General Committee: Colin Lorrimar
  Rick Hughes
  Robert Jensen
  Stuart Folkard, CMatP
  Ehsan Karaji, CMatP
  Steve Rennie
WA Branch Email Address:

For further information on the WA Branch, please contact the WA Branch President.

Australian Capital Territory Councillors

ACT Branch Chair: Alexey Glushenkov, CMatP
Committee Members: Yun Liu, CMatP
Syed Islam, CMatP
ACT Branch Email Address:

Access key details

1 Home page
2 About Materials Australia
3 Login
4 Search
5 Shop
6 Membership
7 Contact
0 Access key details